Member of the Jury, 8th NSFFI 2018, Guwahati


Ms Manju Borah’s films explore the region’s culture and its impact on the person and society as a whole. Her first feature film Baibhab (A Scam in Verse) was released in 1999. The film was awarded the Jury’s ‘Special Mention’ in the 47th National Film Festival, 2000 and was named the Best film in Asia at the 6th Dhaka International Film Festival, 2000. She was also the recipient of the Gollapudi Srinivas Award for Best Debut Director in 1999.

Then followed Anya Ek Yatra in 2001 and Aakashitorar Kothare (A Tale Told Thousand Times) in 2003. Aakashitorar Kothare won the National award for Best Regional Feature Film. Her following films Laaz (Shame), 2004 and Joymati (The Saviour), 2006 were both selected for the Indian Panorama in IFFI and other National & International festivals. Her 2008 film Aai Kot Nai (Ma) was awarded the Nargis Dutt Award for Best Feature Film on National Integration in 56th National Film Awards.

In 2012 Ko:yad (A Silent Way) received National Awards for Best Mising Film and Best Cinematography in 60th National Film Awards and selected in Indian Panorama of the 44th International Film Festival of India, 2013. The film has been awarded Best Director and Best Actor Awards in 2nd Ladakh International Film Festival 2013, Silver Gateway of India Special Jury Award in 15th Mumbai Film Festival (MAMI) 2013 and Best Film Award in 6th Bengaluru International Film Festival, 2013. Her film Dau Huduni Methai (Song of The Horned Owl) received National Awards for Best Bodo Film, 2015, Indian Panorama, 2015 (46th IFFI), Best Cinematography Award in the 4th International Women’s Film Festival, 2016, Afghanistan which is also an official selection for Montreal World Film Festival, Kerala International Film Festival, 2015, MAMI 2015 etc.

Her latest film Sarbagunakar Srimanta Sankardeva which is the 1st animated feature film in the North-Eastern Region of India which got released in Nov, 2016 with a huge response from the audience. She holds various positions at different cine organizations and also served as Jury Member in National Film Awards, Indian Panorama, MAMI, 3rd Eye 7th Asian Film Festival Mumbai, Chairperson of the Jury, OSCAR Screening Committee, Film Federation of India etc.

She is a recipient of a Senior Fellowship from the Central Ministry of Culture on her work associated with Women folklore of Assam and has been awarded the Women of Excellence Award by FICCI for her outstanding contribution to the field of Film & Entrepreneurship and also the Satyajit Ray Memorial Award given by the Asian Film Foundation for working to spread film culture in India as a life time mission.

Filmography: 1. Sapon 1996; 2. Baibhab (A Scam in Verse) 1999; 3. Anya Ek Yatra 2001; 4. Aakashitorar Kothare… (A Tale Told Thousand Times) 2003; 5. Laaz (Shame) 2004; 6. Joymati (The Saviour) 2006; 7. Aai Kot Nai (MA) 2008; 8. KO:YAD (A Silent Way) 2012; 9. Dau Huduni Methai (Song of The Horned Owl) 2015; 10. Sarbagunakar Srimanta Sankadeva 2016