## **NATIONAL SCIENCE DAY 2017**

Department of Science and Technology (DST) is celebrating National Science day on 28 February 2017. National Science Day (NSD) is celebrated every year on 28<sup>th</sup> February to commemorate the discovery of the 'Raman Effect', a Nobel Prize winning discovery by Sir C.V. Raman.

Dr. Harsh Vardhan, Hon'ble Union Minister of Science & Technology and Earth Sciences will be the Chief Guest and Shri Y.S. Chowdary, Hon'ble Minister of State for Science & Technology and Earth Sciences will preside over the function. On this occasion, they will confer National Awards for Science Communication for outstanding contribution in communication of Science and Technology for the year 2016. The theme of NSD-2017 is "Science and Technology for Specially Abled Persons". NSD Theme has been chosen for the purpose of raising public appreciation of the scientific issues involved and converge with Accessible India campaign. On this occasion, Dr. Rajesh Malhotra, Professor & Head, Department of Orthopedics, All India Institute of Medical Sciences, New Delhi will deliver National Science Day Lecture on the theme in Auditorium-I, Convention Centre, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi.

National Council of Science and Technology Communication (NCSTC), DST, acts as a nodal agency to support catalyze and coordinate celebration of the National Science Day throughout the country, particularly in scientific institutions and research laboratories. It provides budgetary support to State S&T Councils and Departments for organization of lectures, quizzes, open houses, etc. As celebrations of important Scientific Days bring scientific awareness in the community, many institutions organize Open House and apprise students about career opportunities available in the field of Science & Technology.

NCSTC instituted National Awards in 1987 to stimulate, encourage and recognize outstanding efforts in the area of science popularization and communication and promoting scientific temper. The Awardees for 2016 include Kalinga Foundation Trust, Bhubaneswar and Dr. M.V. Padma Srivastava, New Delhi, for National Award for Outstanding Efforts in Science & Technology Communication. The award consists of Rupees two lakhs, a memento and a citation. Dr. Ranjit Singh, PAU, Ludhiana and Dr. Shubashree Desikan, Chennai have been chosen for being National Award for Outstanding Efforts in Science & Technology Communication through Print Media including Books and Magazines. This Award consists of Rupees one lakh, a memento and a citation. Delhi State Science Teachers Forum, Delhi; Shri Padmalochan Pradhan, Balasore and Shri Sanjay Bapurao Pujari, Satara are selected for National Award for Outstanding Efforts in Science & Technology Popularization among Children which consist of Rupees one lakh, a memento and a citation. Dr. Shally Awasthi, Lucknow, is the National Awardee for Outstanding Efforts in Science & Technology Communication through Innovative and Traditional Methods which too is Rupees one lakh, a memento and a citation while Dr. Anil Kumar Tripathi, Lucknow and Shri G.S. Unnikrishnan Nair, Thiruvananthapuram are being conferred National Award for Outstanding Efforts in Science & Technology Communication in the Electronic Medium again consisting of Rupees one lakh, a memento and a citation.